Müller-Martini-Areal Zurich, new building, completion 2006

Entwurf vom Gebäudekomplex

Having control over former industrially used land and its new planning allows the possibility to give an urban quarter and its immediate vicinity a new face. The Müller-Martini-Areal in Zurich West lies between the Heinrichstraße and the Josefstrasse, neighbouring on the railway viaduct and industrial plants, in the aspiring urban quarter of Kreis (District) 5. The existing buildings on the grounds were completely replaced by new buildings.

 

Industrial charm meets modernity

The relatively typical, heterogeneous structure of a former industrial quarter is juxtaposed with two buildings with courtyards, which resemble one another in terms of their plans, their height dimensions and as an expression of the typical courtyard edge structure of the Zurich city centre: when one experiences the building complex coming from the city centre, the building seems like a continuation of the city.

The two courtyard edge buildings, the office building in the Josefstrasse and the residential building in the Heinrichstrasse are linked by a square lying between them.

Historisches Gemälde von Zürich
Painting, Historical Zurich, MK, 1997

Street – Square – Courtyard

Large gates in the residential building and passages in the office building lead to the quiet courtyards and a square that connects both buildings. Thus, important urban features and elements that were lost in the architectural landscape of the post-war period, especially street, square, courtyard and passages, have been reinterpreted and merged to create a new whole.

The façade composition

With a façade of stone, sandstone and plaster, as well as classic apartment ground plans, the building represents a counterpoint among the new buildings to the architectural landscape in Zurich West, which is characterised by glass and concrete.

Zürich aus der Vogelperspektive
Zurich -West
Innenhofaufnahme des Areals
Courtyard view
Category
Residential and commercial building
Location
Heinrichstraße, Josefstraße, Zürich, West
Completion
2006
Planning
2001–2004
Construction management
Müller Martini, Hergiswil
Partner office
Arassociati, Milano
General contractor
Halter AG, Zürich

Müller-Martini-Areal Zürich, Neubau, Fertigstellung 2006

Entwurf vom Gebäudekomplex

Das Verfügen über ein ehemals industriell genutztes Gelände und dessen Neubeplanung eröffnen die Möglichkeit, einem Stadtquartier und seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung ein neues Gesicht zu geben. Das Müller-Martini-Areal in Zürich West liegt zwischen der Heinrich- und der Josefstrasse, angrenzend an Eisenbahnviadukt und Industrieanlagen, im aufstrebenden Stadtquartier Kreis 5. Der auf dem Gelände existierende Bestand wurde komplett durch Neubauten ersetzt.

Industriecharme trifft auf Modernität

Der relativ typisch heterogenen Struktur eines ehemaligen Industriequartiers werden zwei Hofgebäude entgegengestellt, welche sich im Plan, in ihren Höhenabmessungen und Ausdruck der typischen Hofrandstruktur der Zürcher Innenstadt angleichen: erfährt man den Gebäudekomplex von der Innenstadt her kommend, ist des Haus wie eine Fortsetzung der City. 

Die zwei Hofrandgebäude, das Bürohaus an der Josefstrasse und das Wohnhaus an der Heinrichstrasse, werden über einen dazwischen liegenden Platz verbunden.

Historisches Gemälde von Zürich
Gemälde, Historisches Zürich, MK, 1997

Strasse – Platz – Hof

Grosse Tore im Wohnhaus und Passagen im Bürohaus führen zu den stillen Höfen und einem Platz, welcher beide Gebäude verbindet. So werden wichtige städtische Merkmale und Elemente, die in der architektonischen Landschaft der Nachkriegszeit verloren gingen, Strasse – Platz – Hof und Durchgänge, neu interpretiert und zu einem neuen Ganzen zusammengefügt.

Die Fassaden­komposition

Mit einer Fassade aus Stein, Sandstein und Putz und klassischen Wohnungsgrundrissen wird der Bau unter den Neubauten einen Kontrapunkt zur von Glas und Beton geprägten architektonischen Landschaft in Zürich West setzen.

Zürich aus der Vogelperspektive
Zürich-West
Innenhofaufnahme des Areals
Hofansicht
Kategorie
Wohn- und Geschäftshaus
Standort
Heinrichstraße, Josefstraße, Zürich, West
Fertigstellung
2006
Planung
2001–2004
Bauherr
Müller Martini, Hergiswil
Partnerbüro
Arassociati, Milano
General­unternehmer
Halter AG, Zürich