Fellini Residences Berlin, new building, completion 2013

Die Aussenansicht der Fellini Residences

Poets and architects of the 19th century let themselves be inspired during their months-long journeys through Italy and brought their conceptual treasures back to Berlin with them in order to realise them and thus to help make the city on the Spree an “Italian Arcadia”. The architect Schinkel is surely the most famous of these travellers to Italy.

 

Die Erscheinung lehnt sich den italienischen Stadthäusern an
Courtyard design

The draft of the building is at the same time the design of this mental backdrop. The outer appearance is reminiscent of Italian townhouses in colour and form. The curved courtyard façade is inspired by the auditorium of a theatre, at the centre of which is a natural stone fountain.

 

Italy in Berlin

The affection and admiration for Italy is unabated to the present day. The close proximity of the richly decorated façades was imprinted in the memory of many visitors to Italy.

Eine kleine Gasse mit einem Auto in Italien
Photo: Jovana Askrabic

Composition of the apartments

The total of 60 condominiums (60 to 220 square metres) are open via both the central courtyard and generously dimensioned entrances on the street side. The courtyard thus becomes an “open” entrance hall and a source of light for the apartments arranged around it.

All apartments have outdoor areas, either in the form of patios or as loggias and balconies. The façade cladding and the cornice above the 6th floor are planned in light grey-beige sandstone. All windows and the coffered building entrance doors are made of wood.

Aquarell Skizze der Hinterhofseite vom Wohnhaus
Sketch, MK, ink and watercolour, 2008

The prototype pavilion

A single-storey sample pavilion has been created for the sale of the apartments in order to provide interested parties not only with possibilities for interior design, but also to demonstrate the impact of the exterior appearance. The furnishing of the apartments has been designed and compiled by the Dutch designer Erik Kuster.

Category
Residential and commercial building
Location
Komman­danten­straße 67–69, Berlin, Mitte
Completion
2013
Planning
2007–2008
Cooperation
G. Pesenti and S. Stortone
Implementation planning
Schulz Architekten Berlin
Construction management
Born Immobilien GmbH
Photography
M. Hattwig

Fellini Residences Berlin, Neubau, Fertigstellung 2013

Die Aussenansicht der Fellini Residences

Dichter und Baukünstler des 19. Jahrhunderts haben sich während monatelangen Italienreisen inspirieren lassen und haben Ihre Gedankenschätze zurück nach Berlin gebracht, um sie in die Tat umzusetzen und damit die Stadt an der Spree zu einem »italienischen Arkadien« werden lassen. Der Architekt Schinkel ist sicherlich der Berühmteste der Italienreisenden.

Die Erscheinung lehnt sich den italienischen Stadthäusern an
Hofgestaltung

Der Entwurf des Gebäudes ist gleichzeitig Konstruktion dieser mentalen Kulisse. Die äußere Erscheinung lehnt sich in Farbe und Form den italienischen Stadthäusern an. Die geschwungene Hoffassade ist inspiriert vom Zuschauerraum eines Theaters, in dessen Zentrum der Natursteinbrunnen steht.

Italien in Berlin

Die Zuneigung und Bewunderung für Italien ist auch heute noch ungebrochen. Das dichte Nebeneinander der reich dekorierten Fassaden hat sich in der Erinnerung vieler Italienbesuchender festgesetzt.

Eine kleine Gasse mit einem Auto in Italien
Foto: Jovana Askrabic

Komposition der Wohnungen

Die insgesamt 60 Eigentumswohnungen (60 bis 220 Quadratmeter) werden sowohl über den zentralen Hof als auch über großzügige Entrées an der Straßenseite erschlossen. Damit wird der Hof zu einer »offenen« Eingangshalle und zu einer Lichtquelle der ringsum angeordneten Wohnungen.

Alle Wohnungen verfügen über Außenbereiche, entweder in Form von Terrassen oder in Form von Loggien und Balkonen. Die Fassadenverkleidung sowie das Kranzgesims über dem 5. Obergeschoss sind in einem hellgrau-beigen Sandstein geplant. Alle Fenster sowie die kassettierten Hauseingangstüren sind in Holz. 

Aquarell Skizze der Hinterhofseite vom Wohnhaus
Skizze, MK, Tusche und Aquarell, 2008

Der Musterpavillon

Für den Verkauf der Wohnungen ist ein eingeschossiger Musterpavillon erstellt worden, um dem Interessierten nicht nur die Möglichkeiten der inneren Einrichtung, sondern auch die Wirkung des äußeren Erscheinungsbildes zu zeigen. Die Möblierung der Wohnungen ist von dem holländischen Designer Erik Kuster entworfen und zusammengestellt worden.

Kategorie
Wohn- und Geschäftshaus
Standort
Komman­danten­straße 67–69, Berlin, Mitte
Fertigstellung
2013
Planung
2007–2008
Mitarbeit
G. Pesenti und S. Stortone
Ausführungs­planung
Schulz Architekten Berlin
Bauherr
Born Immobilien GmbH
Fotografie
M. Hattwig