Casa Onda Berlin, new building, completion 2014

With lively wave movements, to which Casa Onda owes its name, the unusually multifaceted façade merges with vivid lightness into the historicist architecture of the Schreinerstraße in Friedrichshain. The pulsating quarter has been increasingly attracting families with children for years. The Casa Onda, oriented to the south, combines a Mediterranean attitude towards life with Berlin neighbourhood atmosphere: both the front building and the green courtyard and wings are flooded with light and air from the afternoon and evening sun. An expansive, park­like playground offers green and open spaces in the heart of Berlin to both big and small.

 

Flowing liveliness

The flowing liveliness of the Casa Onda façade is underlined by the design of the loggias and balconies, which are sometimes built on a trapezoidal, sometimes on a rectangular ground plan. The railings of the upper floors also incorporate the movement of the wave. A contrast with this is provided by the stringent form of the French windows, which extend to the floor.

Rhythm as formal principle

The polymorphic architecture of Casa Onda reminds of buildings of European art nouveau from the period around 1910, for example, Gaudì’s Casa Milà (1906–1912) with its curved forms and its rhythmic façade design borrowed from nature. Prague art nouveau also produced iconoclastic architectural and aesthetically highly sophisticated forms, which express themselves in the enlivening of individual components, such as curved bays. These are also reflected in Casa Onda.

Casa Milà, Barcelona 1909-1912

The façade enchants with its extraordinary wealth of detail: the portals of the ground floor are decorated with friezes. The windows above the entrance area in the left third have round arches, similar to the seemingly organic façade and window designs of art nouveau. They adopt the entrance situation, in that they imitate a staircase in their gradation, as can also be seen in buildings from the 1910s.

[Translate to Englisch:] Entwurfsskizze Maisonettewohnung
Category
Residential and commercial building
Location
Schreinerstraße 38/39, Berlin, Friedrichshain
Completion
2014
Planning
2011–2013
Implementation planning
kwp-architekten, Berlin
Construction management
kwp-architekten, Berlin
Construction management
Bülow Immobilien GmbH, Berlin

Animated calm anchor in the centre of Berlin

Casa Onda is located centrally and is nonetheless quiet – an oasis with a high quality of life. It unites movement and demarcation, restraint and extroversion, as well as clarity and surprising perspectives into itself.

Casa Onda Berlin, Neubau, Fertigstellung 2014

Mit lebendigen Wellenbewegungen, denen die Casa Onda ihren Namen verdankt, fügt sich die außer­gewöhnlich viel­gestaltige Fassade mit lebendiger Leichtigkeit in die Gründer­zeit-Architektur der Schreinerstraße in Friedrichshain ein. Das pulsierende Viertel zieht seit einigen Jahren zunehmend Familien mit Kindern an. Die nach Süden ausgerichtete Casa Onda verbindet mediterranes Lebensgefühl mit Berliner Kiez­atmosphäre: sowohl Vorderhaus, als auch begrünter Hof und Seitenflügel werden durch die einfallende Nachmittags- und Abendsonne mit Licht und Luft durchflutet. Ein weitläufiger, park­ähnlicher Spielplatz bietet Groß und Klein Grünflächen und Freiraum im Herzen Berlins. 

Fließende Lebendigkeit 

Die fließende Lebendigkeit der Fassade der Casa Onda wird durch die Formgebung der Loggien und Balkone unterstrichen, die teils auf trapezoidalem, teils auf rechteckigem Grundriss erbaut sind. Auch die Geländer in den oberen Geschossen nehmen die Bewegung der Welle auf. Einen Kontrast hierzu bildet die strenge Form der bis zum Boden reichenden französischen Fenster.

Rhythmus als Formprinzip

Die polymorphe Architektur der Casa Onda erinnert an Gebäude des europäischen Jugendstils aus der Zeit um 1910, so etwa Gaudìs Casa Milà (1906–1912) mit ihren der Natur entlehnten, geschwungenen Formen und seiner rhythmischen Fassaden­gestaltung. Auch der Prager Jugendstil hat eigenwillige architek­tonische und ästhetisch höchst anspruchsvolle Formen hervorgebracht, die sich in der Belebung einzelner Bauteile, wie etwa geschwungener Erker, äußern. Diese finden sich ebenfalls in der Casa Onda wieder.

Casa Milà, Barcelona, 1909–1912

Die Fassade besticht durch ihren außer­gewöhnlichen Detail­reichtum: Die Portale des Erdgeschosses sind mit Friesen geschmückt. Die Fenster oberhalb des im linken Drittel liegenden Eingangs­bereichs sind ähnlich zu organisch anmutenden Fassaden- und Fenster­gestaltungen des Jugendstils mit Rundbögen versehen. Sie nehmen die Eingangs­situation auf, indem sie in ihrer Abstufung einen Treppen­aufgang imitieren, wie es auch an Häusern aus den 1910er Jahren zu sehen ist.

Entwurfsskizze Maisonettewohnung
Kategorie
Wohn- und Geschäftshaus
Standort
Schreinerstraße 38/39, Berlin, Friedrichshain
Fertigstellung
2014
Planung
2011–2013
Ausführungs­planung
kwp-architekten, Berlin
Bauleitung
kwp-architekten, Berlin
Bauherr
Bülow Immobilien GmbH, Berlin

Bewegter Ruhepol im Zentrum Berlins

Die Casa Onda liegt zentral und dennoch ruhig – eine Oase von hoher Lebens­qualität. Sie vereint Bewegung und Begrenzung, Zurückhaltung und Extrovertiert­heit, sowie Klarheit und überraschende Sichtweisen in sich.