Binzstraße Berlin, new building, completion 2019

The new residential building closes a gap and merges harmoniously into its environment in that it links elements of historicist building with an own, fluid language of form. The rhythmically designed façade is characterised by wooden windows that reach to the floor with a uniform height, as well as by loggias, patios and balconies. An element of the façade that stands out is the frontispiece with tower rooms, which exceeds the prescribed height of the roof.

 

The living past

Inside the block of flats, a spacious staircase coiling upwards links the individual floors with one another.

The bottom sides of the balconies have beam-like supports – characteristic and reminiscent of Italian Renaissance buildings, as they can often be seen in the paintings of Lorenzetti. The beams functioned here as roof supports and projected from the interior into the outdoor space.

Balcony with consoles

Inviting distance

The two front gardens arranged along the building and facing the street provide a reference to the environment, but also remind of the entrance situations of London or New York blocks of flats. They each have a staircase that enables an unimpeded change between the apartment on the ground floor and the garden. The enclosure with wall and box hedge, together with the light shafts, forms an inviting entrance area that at the same time creates distance from the sidewalk and street.

Sketch, MK
Category
Residential building
Location
Binzstraße 42, Berlin, Weißensee
Completion
2019
Planning
2016-2019
Project management
G. Pesenti
Cooperation
S. Caiulo
Implementation planning
kwp Architekten, Berlin
Construction management
Binz 42 GbR, München, Benedikt Lex
General contractor
Lattermann Bau GmbH

Binzstraße Berlin, Neubau, Fertigstellung 2019

Bei dem Neubau des Wohnhauses handelt es sich um einen Lückenschluss, der sich harmonisch in seine Umgebung fügt, indem er Elemente des gründerzeitlichen Bauens mit einer eigenen, fluiden Formsprache verbindet. Die rhythmisch gestaltete Fassade ist gekennzeichnet von bis auf den Boden reichenden Holzfenstern mit durchgängig gleicher Höhe, sowie von Loggien, Terrassen und Balkonen. Ein herausstechendes Element der Fassade bildet das Frontispiz mit Turmzimmer, das die vorgegebene Höhe des Dachs überragt.

Lebendige Vergangenheit

Im Inneren des Mietshauses verbindet eine großzügige, sich ovalförmig nach oben wendelnde Treppe die einzelnen Geschosse miteinander.

Die Unterseiten der Balkone weisen balkenähnliche Stützen auf – Charakteristikum und Reminiszenz an italienische Renaissancebauten, wie sie auf den Gemälden des Malers Lorenzetti zu sehen sind. Die Balken fungierten hier als Deckenstützen und ragten aus dem Innen- in den Außenraum.

Balkone mit Konsolen

Einladende Distanz

Die beiden dem Gebäude zur Straße hin angegliederten Vorgärten bilden eine Referenz an die Umgebung, gemahnen aber auch an Eingangssituationen Londoner oder New Yorker Mietshäuser. Sie verfügen über je eine Treppe, die einen ungestörten Wechsel zwischen Wohnung im Erdgeschoss und Garten ermöglicht. Die Umfriedung mit Mauer und Buchsbaumhecke bildet zusammen mit den Lichtstelen einen einladenden Eingangsbereich, der zugleich Distanz von Gehweg und Straße schafft.

Skizze, MK
Kategorie
Wohnhaus
Standort
Binzstraße 42, Berlin, Weißensee
Fertigstellung
2019
Planung
2016-2019
Projektleitung
G. Pesenti
Mitarbeit
S. Caiulo
Ausführungs­planung
kwp Architekten, Berlin
Bauherr
Binz 42 GbR, München, Benedikt Lex
General­unternehmer
Lattermann Bau GmbH