Bahnhof­strasse Zürich Zurich, renovation/redevelopment, completion 2017

The Bahnhofstrasse in Zurich is considered one of the most luxurious shopping miles worldwide and can compete with the most expensive streets in New York or Paris. Here, exclusive department stores, shops of famous fashion labels, jewellers and luxury hotels line up one after the other. The Bahnhofstrasse is also the seat of many banks and internationally active law offices.

The renowned boulevard originated in the second half of the 19th century. Once built as a residential area for the socially disadvantaged, the Bahnhofstrasse especially also served as an access road to the railway station. Today it is primarily a traffic-calmed strolling and shopping promenade. The character of the 19th century continues, even though a number of old buildings had to make way for new buildings from the 1960s to the 1990s. The historical road surface was also replaced by a uniform asphalt surface.

Monument and modernity

The commercial building at Bahnhofstrasse 84 is a heritage-protected building from the years 1891/92, which was built under the name “Zum Freieneck” by the architect Johann Josef Weidmann.

With the redevelopment and the renovation of the building, it was possible to combine aspects of monument protection and the highest demands on technology and comfort in contemporary building and to successfully realise the project. The existing wooden beam ceilings were thus refurbished through an extremely efficient and novel technology with regard to statics and fire prevention. The demanding specifications for noise protection and fitness for purpose were fully implemented. This applies especially to a significant reduction of the otherwise usual suspension of the wooden beam ceilings and the installation of cooling ceilings in all usable spaces.

The confluence of old building charm and new building comfort offers the user real added value when receiving customers in the rooms. The modernly designed and ground level open air entrance was newly clad with marble and stucco. An illuminated ceiling guides the visitor to the elegantly furnished staircase with the restructured elevator.

 

 

Category
Commercial building
Location
Bahnhofstrasse 84, 8001 Zürich
Completion
2017
Planning
2014–2016
Construction management
Private
Partner office
Olah & Partner GmbH
Statistics
StaKo GmbH / Henauer Gugler AG
House technic
Bouygues E&S InTec Schweiz AG
Electric
Thomas Lüem Partner AG
Building physics
Braune Roth AG

Floors and wall cladding of the upper office floors were complemented with luxurious solid wood parquet. Attention was also paid to combining old with new doors built in the same way, or, when necessary for reasons of lighting technology, to replacing these with large-format glass doors. Due to a lack of natural light, high clearance spaces with glazing were conceived of on the topmost floor above the roof area. As a reminiscence of the past, historical advertising painting was refurbished and integrated into one of the office spaces. The highest standards for a modernly equipped business building were realised without negating the history of the building and the place.

Sketch of light dome

Bahnhof­strasse Zürich Zürich, Umbau/Sanierung, Fertigstellung 2017

Die Zürcher Bahnhofstrasse gilt als eine der nobelsten Einkaufsmeilen weltweit, die sich mit den teuersten Straßen in New York oder Paris messen kann. Hier reihen sich exklusive Kaufhäuser, Läden namhafter Modelabels, Juweliere sowie Luxushotels aneinander. Außerdem ist die Bahnhofstrasse Sitz zahlreicher Banken und international agierender Anwaltsbüros.

Die renommierte Prachtmeile entstand in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Einst als Wohngebiet für sozial schwächer Gestellte gebaut, diente die Bahnhofstrasse insbesondere auch als Zufahrtstraße zum Bahnhof. Heute ist sie vorwiegend eine verkehrsberuhigte Flanier- und Geschäftsmeile. Die Prägung des 19. Jahrhunderts lebt fort, auch wenn seit den 60ern bis in die 90er Jahre etliche alte Gebäude Neubauten weichen mussten. Auch der historische Straßenbelag wurde durch eine einheitliche Asphaltfläche ersetzt.

Denkmal und Modernität

Bei dem Geschäftshaus an der Bahnhofstrasse 84 handelt es sich um ein denkmalgeschütztes Gebäude aus den Jahren 1891/92, das unter dem Namen »Zum Freieneck« vom Architekten Johann Josef Weidmann erbaut wurde.

Mit der Sanierung und dem Umbau des Gebäudes gelang es, denkmalpflegerische Aspekte und höchste Ansprüche an Technik und Komfort zu zeitgemäßem Bauen zu verbinden und das Projekt erfolgreich zu realisieren. So wurden die bestehenden Holzbalkendecken mit einer äußerst effizienten und neuartigen Technologie in Bezug auf Statik und Brandschutz ertüchtigt. Die hohen Vorgaben an Schallschutz und Gebrauchstauglichkeit wurden voll umgesetzt. Dies betrifft insbesondere eine signifikante Reduktion des sonst üblichen Federns der Holzbalkendecken und den Einbau von Kühldecken in sämtlichen Nutzräumen. 

Die Vereinigung von Altbaucharme und Neubaukomfort bietet dem Nutzer einen echten Mehrwert beim Empfang seiner Kundschaft in den Räumen. Das modern gestaltete und ebenerdige Freiluftentree wurde mit Marmor und Stucco neu eingekleidet. Eine Leuchtdecke führt den Besucher zum elegant eingerichteten Treppenhaus mit dem umstrukturierten Aufzug.

Innenraum
Kategorie
Geschäftshaus
Standort
Bahnhofstrasse 84, 8001 Zürich
Fertigstellung
2017
Planung
2014–2016
Bauherr
Privat
Partnerbüro
Olah & Partner GmbH
Statik
StaKo GmbH / Henauer Gugler AG
Haustechnik
Bouygues E&S InTec Schweiz AG
Elektro
Thomas Lüem Partner AG
Bauphysik
Braune Roth AG

Böden und Wandverkleidungen der oberen Büroetagen wurden mit edlem Massivholzparkett ergänzt. Ebenso wurde darauf geachtet, alte mit neuen, gleichartig gebauten Türen zu kombinieren, oder, wenn aus belichtungstechnischen Gründen notwendig, diese durch großflächige Glastüren zu ersetzen. Im obersten Geschoss wurden mangels natürlicher Belichtung hohe Lichträume mit Verglasungen über der Dachfläche erdacht. Als Reminiszenz an die Vergangenheit wurde in einem der Büroräume eine historische Reklamemalerei aufgearbeitet und integriert. Ohne die Geschichte des Hauses und des Ortes zu negieren, wurden höchste Ansprüche an ein modern ausgestattetes Geschäftshaus realisiert.

Skizze Lichtdom