Winsstraße Berlin, new building/modernisation, completion 2005

Hausansicht in der Winsstrasse in Berlin

The historicist real estate property (c. 1910) lies in the middle of an intact urban structure that survived the destruction of the Second World War and the urban planning reorganisation of the post-war era. Especially in the last five to ten years, this area has profited greatly from its urban planning quality: many individual buildings of the dense perimeter development were renovated and thus upgraded.

For this project too, special attention has thus been paid to the public areas, namely the street façade, as well as to the private areas, such as courtyard façades and courtyard design. New elevator systems and balconies facing the inner courtyards, as well as the converted top floor provide the outwardly recognisable features of the construction measures for the interior usage upgrading.

The courtyard design

The façade composition typical for this time, consisting of loggia, bays and balconies, is included in the redesigning of the façade and reinterpreted. The vertical is clearly structured into a basement (ground floor), a main part (second to fourth floor), an upper terminus (fifth floor) and pronounced eaves. The protruding and receding dormers mediate between the street façade and the roof landscape.

Sculptural, decorative elements like consoles under the bay and beneath the existing balconies, as well as décor paintings in the pillar areas of the fifth floor support a history-conscious handling of the substance. Three coats of paint with transparent glazes increase the plasticity of the façade surfaces.

Meditative peace

A central element is the paved path. It is demarcated laterally by a white coloured kerbstone. The radical and high-quality design of the courtyard results from the proportionally large usable spaces, which are oriented to the courtyard. Diverse, grass-like cultivation (grass and shrubs), together with the fountain and its subtle ambient noise, enhance the contemplative character of the courtyard atmosphere.

Category
Residential and commercial building
Location
Winsstraße 67, Berlin, Prenzlauer Berg
Completion
2005
Planning
2004–2005
Construction management
econcept Immobilien und Projektentwicklung KG (GmbH & Co), Berlin
Photography
T. Kwiatosz

Winsstraße Berlin, Neubau/Modernisierung, Fertigstellung 2005

Hausansicht in der Winsstrasse in Berlin

Die Immobilie aus der Gründerzeit (circa. 1910) liegt inmitten einer intakten Stadtstruktur, welche die Zerstörung des zweiten Weltkrieges und die städtebauliche Neuorganisierung der Nachkriegszeit überlebt hat. Vor allem in den letzten fünf bis zehn Jahren hat dieses Gebiet stark von seiner städtebaulichen Qualität profitiert: viele Einzelgebäude der dichten Blockrandbebauung wurden saniert und damit aufgewertet.

Eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt deshalb auch bei diesem Projekt den öffentlichen Flächen - nämlich der Straßenfassade und auch den privaten Flächen wie Hoffassaden und Hofgestaltung. Neue Aufzugsanlagen und Balkone zu den Innenhöfen, sowie das ausgebaute Dachgeschoss bilden die äußerlich erkennbaren Merkmale der Baumassnahme zur inneren Nutzungsaufwertung.

Die Hofgestaltung

Die für diese Zeit typische Fassadenkomposition, bestehend aus Loggia, Erker und Balkonen wird in der Fassadenneugestaltung aufgenommen und neu interpretiert. Die Vertikale wird deutlich in ein Sockelgeschoss (Erdgeschosss), einen Mittelbau (erstes bis drittes Obergeschoss) einen oberen Abschluss (viertes Obergeschoss) und ein markantes Dachgesims gegliedert. Die vor- und rückspringenden Dachgauben vermitteln zwischen der Straßenfassade und der Dachlandschaft.

Plastische, dekorative Elemente wie Konsolen unter dem Erker und unter den bestehenden Balkonen sowie Dekormalereien in den Pfeilerbereichen des vierten Obergeschosses unterstützen den geschichtsbewussten Umgang mit der Substanz. Ein dreilagiger Farbanstrich mit transparenten Lasuren erhöht die Plastizität der Fassadenflächen.

Meditative Ruhe

Zentrales Element ist der gepflasterte Weg. Er wird seitlich von einem weiß eingefärbten Randstein begrenzt. Die radikale und hochwertige Neugestaltung des Hofes ergibt sich aus den anteilsmäßig großen Nutzflächen, die sich zum Hof orientieren. Eine vielfältige, grasartige Bepflanzung (Gräser und Stauden) soll zusammen mit dem Brunnen und dessen dezenter Geräuschkulisse den kontemplativen Charakter der Hofatmosphäre unterstützen.

Kategorie
Wohn- und Geschäftshaus
Standort
Winsstraße 67, Berlin, Prenzlauer Berg
Fertigstellung
2005
Planung
2004–2005
Bauherr
econcept Immobilien und Projektentwicklung KG (GmbH & Co), Berlin
Fotografie
T. Kwiatosz